subdomainarchive The Heart of Neolithic Orkney Intro

The Heart of Neolithic Orkney

Virtual Tour

Experience an immersive, self-guided tour of the site through linked panoramic images, maps, and narration


View all photos, 3D point clouds, panoramas, videos, and other content through a searchable thumbnail gallery

Site Information

Browse all textual information for the site, supplemented with multimedia images

Interactive Map

Navigate through different areas of the site via basemaps and associated geo-referenced data

A Brief Introduction

This well-preserved grouping of Neolithic monuments and structures includes six sites: Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, Maeshowe, Stones of Stennes, Watch Stone, and Barnhouse Stone. Occupied roughly between 3100-2500 BCE, the six sites that comprise the Heart of Neolithic Orkney lie on the Scottish Orkney Islands, and has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1999.

Neolithic Orkney is one of ten sites included in the Scottish Ten project, a partnership project between CyArk, Historic Scotland, and Glasgow's School of Art's Digital Design Studio. In August 2010, a team from Historic Scotland and the Glasgow School of Art digitally documented the site as part of the Scottish Ten. The Scottish Ten ambitiously strives to create accurate digital models of Scotland's five UNESCO designated World Heritage Sites over the course of 5 years. Along with Neolithic Orkney, the Scottish Ten will also digitally preserve the remaining four sites in Scotland - the Antonine Wall; the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh; New Lanark; and St. Kilda - as well as five international heritage sites.

For more information about the World Heritage Sites, visit the Historic Scotland website and the Scottish Ten website.

Click here to read more about this project