Big Buck Bunny

Mount Rushmore National Memorial Bookmark and Share

Animation of the Mountain Sculpture, created from laser scan data

Mountain Sculpture Information

Mount Rushmore, also known as the Shrine of Democracy, is a National Memorial depicting four of the most prominent presidents of the first 150 years of the United States - George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Teddy Roosevelt, and Thomas Jefferson. Mount Rushmore was carved into South Dakota’s Black Hills from 1927 to 1941 under the direction of sculptor Gutzon Borglum. The project took a team of 400 drillers and assistant carvers fourteen years to complete. Over 1.7 billion pounds of stone were removed using dynamite, detailed drilling, and finishing processes.

Project Map
(click here for Interactive Map)

zoom map

Exif/Meta Data